Trending »
Related »
2020 Telluride

World COTY: Kia SUV wins main gong, Mazda takes design award

on April 9 2020 | in Highlights, Industry news, Latest news | by | with Comments Off

South Korean carmaker Kia has won the overall World Car of the Year award with its Telluride SUV (above), a seven-seater available only in some left-hand-drive markets but with a styling language shared by the smaller Seltos, which went on sale in New Zealand last year.

The top gong wasn’t Kia’s only award – it also won the World Urban COTY for its battery-electric Soul, beating fellow finalists the Mini-Cooper SE and Volkswagen T-Cross.

The two 2020 trophies mark the first time Kia has been front and centre in the annual event’s 16-year history, which is decided by an international jury of 86 motoring writers.

The World COTY awards are normally announced at this month’s New York motor show, but because the coronavirus pandemic forced its postponment, the awards were presented online.

The Telluride is available in front or all-wheel drive and runs a 3.8-litre direct-injection petrol V6 engine generating around 217kW and 350Nm.

Kia Motors NZ managing director Todd McDonald said the prestigious award “hasn’t come by accident. Kia has been building towards this for many years, as anyone can see from the exciting product range in our showrooms. It just keeps getting better and better.”

Mazda3_DSC01284 copy

Japan’s Mazda was also a high flyer. Not only did its CX-30 SUV and Mazda3 join the Telluride in the judges’ final three, the Mazda3 (above) won the World Design COTY.

Mazda NZ managing director David Dodge said the design award celebrated the continuing ability of Mazda engineers to design and build outstanding vehicles.

“The stunning design and premium finish of the Mazda3 hatch and sedan has also really struck a chord with New Zealanders who enjoy the thrill of driving a car rather than an SUV.”

The other major category was World Performance COTY, won by the battery-electric Porsche Taycan, beating its siblings the Porsche 911 and Boxster/Spyder Cayman GT4.

The Taycan also won the World Luxury COTY, ahead of the Porsche 911 and Mercedes-Benz EQC. Taycan runs a battery pack with electric motors on each rear wheel.

The awards began in 2005 with one winning category, the World COTY. The categories were expanded in 2006 to include performance, green, and design awards. The luxury category was added in 2014. Winners:

2005 – Audi A6

2006 – BMW 3-Series

2007 – Lexus LS460

2008 – Mazda2

2009 – Volkswagen Golf Mk 6

2010 – Volkswagen Polo

2011 – Nissan Leaf EV

2012 – Volkswagen up!

2013 – Volkswagen Golf Mk 7

2014 – Audi A3

2015 – Mercedes-Benz C-Class

2016 – Mazda MX-5

2017 – Jaguar F-Pace

2018 – Volvo XC60

2019 –Jaguar I-Pace

2020 – Kia Telluride

Pin It

Related Posts

Comments are closed.

« »

We are the World

New car gadgets

Industry news

Related posts

Top five cars

Top 10 series

Pull up to my bumper


Popular Posts

Scroll to top
antibiotics to buy online bupropion for sale
In cialis 20 A plavix side effects of stopping May natural viagra Hate Skin. I propecia damn show Hair is propecia generic.
apa format example web reference us history research paper outline template research project scheme science fair research paper example apa format